Competition Schedule


July 14


July 15


July 16-21


July 21


July 22


The tennis court is rectangular, 23.77 m long by 8.23 m wide. The length of the racket on which the ball is hit must also be of appropriate dimensions – the length of its frame and handle should not exceed 73.66 cm, and its width should not exceed 31.75 cm.

A tennis match consists of sets, sets of games and games of points. Points are awarded for winning a single tennis rally. The first point in a game counts as 15, the second as 30, the third as 40. Scoring a fourth point wins the game. After each odd game in the set, and at the end of the set, there is a change of sides. After each odd game, players may take a short break.

To win a set – the player must win 6 games first, allowing the opponent to win at most four games. Matches are played up to two sets won – except for Grand Slam tournaments, where players play up to three sets. For women – matches are always played up to two sets.


The first tennis-like games were played in antiquity. Tennis in its present form dates back to the 19th century. As the sport began to gain popularity, tournaments arose that are still played today. The four most prestigious tournaments are the Australian Open, Roland Garros, Wimbledon and the US Open. The oldest of them is Wimbledon, which was played for the first time in 1877.

Notable Polish representatives

Jadwiga Jędrzejowska – Wimbledon finalist, champion of the French Championships 1939

Wojciech Fibak – winner of the Australian Open 1978 doubles, winner of 15 singles and 52 doubles tournaments

Łukasz Kubot – winner of the Australian Open 2014 and Wimbledon 2017 doubles

Agnieszka Radwańska – WTA Finals 2015 champion, finalist of Wimbledon 2012, highest-ranked Polish woman in the history of the WTA ranking (2nd Place)

Iga Świątek – winner of Roland Garros 2020


Place Category Winner title
European Universities Champion
Team (athletes, staff)
European Universities Champion
Other awards