Competition Schedule


July 19


July 20


July 21-27


July 27


July 28


The matches are played on a rectangular playing field 68 meters wide and 105 meters long. The two shorter lines are called end lines and the section between the posts is the goal line. Two longer lines – these are the side lines. On opposite sides of the playing field, there are goals with a width between the inside edges of the posts – 7.32 m and the height of the lower edge of the crossbar from the ground – 2.44 m. 70 cm.

Two teams take part in the match. Each team has 11 players, including one goalkeeper. A team may also appoint 7 substitutes. The ball can be hit with virtually any part of the body, except for the hands. This prohibition does not apply to the goalkeeper, but the goalkeeper must be within his own penalty area. Points (goals) are scored when the ball is placed in the opponent’s goal.


It is not known when football was played for the first time. Some varieties of “football” already existed in the Middle Ages. The rules of football, the closest to the modern one, were created by the British. During the industrial age, public schools wanted to encourage young people to practice a healthy lifestyle and encouraged it through team games. The oldest rules of the game for football were written in 1845 at Rugby School in England. On October 26, 1863, 11 London football clubs established the FA – The Football Association – the first organization to manage football competitions. The British, whose empire stretched across all continents of the world, popularized the game, largely due to simple general rules.

Since 1900, football has been an Olympic discipline, but the founding of FIFA – the International Football Federation – in 1904 was of great importance for the development of the discipline. The official FIFA World Cup has been played since 1930.

Currently, football is the most popular sport in the world. In 2009, 265 million players and 5 million referees took part in competitions all over the world. The 2018 FIFA World Cup Final was watched by 1,120,000,000 people.

Notable Polish representatives

Robert Lewandowski – 9-time German champion (2010/2011, 2011/2012,2014/2015, 2015/2016, 2017/2018, 2018/2019, 2019/2020, 2020/2021), UEFA Champions League winner (2019/2020), UEFA European Super Cup (2020) and FIFA Club World Champion(2020).In 2020 and 2021 voted FIFA world’s best footballer.

Zbigniew Boniek – Italian champion (1984), European Cup winner (1985) and European Super Cup winner (1984). Bronze medallist at the 1982 FIFA World Cup.

Grzegorz Lato – two-time FIFA World Cup bronze medallist (1974, 1982), Olympic Games gold and silver medallist (1972, 1976), top goalscorer at the 1974 World Cup.


Place Category Winner title
European Universities Champion
Team (athletes, staff)
European Universities Champion
Other awards
• Fair Play
• All-Star Team
• Team
• Player
• Player
• Winner
• Best Five Players